Wednesday, May 6, 2009

Quick Notes on Idol 2009 Final 4 show

Kris Allen - Finally showed how weak he truly is as a singer.  Perhaps his fans will keep him alive.  He can't perform well unless he is able to tweak the arrangement and tone it down to fit himself.  That is a commendable talent, but if you're looking for the best singer among the contestants remaining, he has to go.  If you want to keep the cutest dudes then Kris will be in the finals.

Danny Gokey - Danny showed tonight that he has not grown as a singer throughout this competition. Back in the beginning we all knew that Danny was one of the best singers.  Well, aside from Kris he's the weakest of the remaining contestants, since he also does not possess the talent that Kris has of bending a song to his strengths, I could make a convincing argument that it's Danny's time to go home.  I hope that is not the case but I do think he is no better than the third best singer and would be expecting him to go home next week. 

Allison.  While I think she was the second best tonight it is totally possible that Allison will be going home.  It seems that she has the weakest fan base remaining.  It's a shame because I truly believe she is the second best singer remaining and also that she will be commercially the most successful of the four remaining singers in the competition.

Adam - A good performance as we always expect from him.  I am now convinced that we are witnessing the next Meatloaf of singers.  He will have a few big hits but his career will be filled with songs that are well done but just never catch on with the masses.

in the end... i will not be surprised if any one of these three go home, Kris, Danny, Allison.  I'm rooting the most for Allison and my second favorite remaining is Danny.

Wednesday, April 22, 2009

Idol round of 7–part II–April 21, 2009

Lil – Chaka Khan – I’m Every Woman

I agree with what judge Kara had to say. We’d been waiting for Lil to take on a song like a Chaka Khan song and we thought when we’d hear it that she’d wow us. While I would have to give her that it was a good performance, after all the merely good performances it would seem that Lil really doesn’t know how to use that great voice she is blessed with. Now at seven contestants left she is clearly not among the better ones. Myself, I couldn’t stop wishing she sounded more like Whitney. Also, as she was in roughly the middle of her performance, the thought struck me, the back-up singers should not be the best part of the performance. Lil’s in trouble.

Kris – She Works Hard For The Money

Early in this contest I thought Kris was not deserving to continue on. I’ve come to see the light and I now agree with the masses. This kid is talented. I do believe that if this song were to be cut as a single today it would be deserving of major airplay. Kris is a player!

Danny – September

Danny’s performance was good. It always is. Danny has a fantastic voice and he’s definitely in control of it. Danny since the first week was my pick to win the whole thing. He has a nice background story and I was touched by his close friendship with Jalil who didn’t make the cut to get out of Hollywood week. That being said Danny at this stage of the competition is missing a bit of star power. I am still rooting for him to make the final three. But at this time with Adam, Kris, and Allison all with the pedal to the floor he may be out as early as this week. I believe though that he will make it this week but watch out for trouble in the round of five for Danny.

Allison – Hot Stuff

I loved her performance. She started out slow and kind of seductive then she goes to belting it out. She presented a true rocker version of a disco song. In the time since the show aired I’ve seen some criticism of Allison that she is a bit limited in that she seems to turn songs to rock. Well, I have yet to see criticism of Kris for turning every song he does to something that he feels will suit his style and for that matter we don’t see much criticism of Anoop turning songs to his “crooner” style. Allison will be ripped off if she doesn’t make the top three.

Adam – If I Can’t Have You

Similar to his performance with Tracks of my Tears Adam turns this song into a sensitive ballad and he shows his great ability once more. When someone does something similar for a second time someone should mention it. None of the judges do. Adam is effectively manipulating his image and the judges. On top of that he has the best voice on the show. There’s no stopping him.

Matt Giraud – Stayin Alive

I believe that Matt is the fifth best singer left in this competition. At one time I had him as high as top three. Something has gone wrong recently for Matt. I think he’s trying too hard actually. It was a good performance but after being eliminated and saved last week I don’t think he did well enough to keep himself out of hot water with the voters. I fear he’s headed for the bottom three again. I think there’s a good chance he’ll be gone again.

Anoop –

Anoop finally takes on a big singing note in this song for the first time since I believe the round of 13. This time he pulls it off well. I can’t remember as I type this what song he sang.. he truly sounds the same every week. If a bookie had been nearby at the start of the show I’d have put all my money on anoop turning a disco song to a ballad. I’d have won too. Thank god for Simon. He gave it to Anoop straight and let him know it was ordinary and boring.

Bottom three.

Anoop, Matt, Lil

Eliminated

Anoop and Lil (Matt has a real shot at being eliminated with anoop staying)

My rankings.

Kris, Allison, Adam, Danny, Matt, Anoop, Lil

p.s. Last Tuesday after the performance show I had written that my final four prediction was Adam, Danny, Allison, and Matt.

My updated prediction is Adam, Allison, Kris, and Danny.

Wednesday, April 15, 2009

American Idol round of seven – 4/15/09

After taking a week off from my American Idol blogging I'm back with my review. I want to thank the legions of fans that this blog has that encouraged me to continue writing even though my favorite is out of the contest. I'll let you all know that my votes are now split between my remaining two favorites, Danny and Allison. I was really knocked off my feet by Meghans loss. But I feel that justice was served when Scotty "I can play the piano" Macintyre got the axe.

Allison – Don’t Want To Miss A Thing

Allison is first with I don’t want to miss a thing. I had a very strong feling that this would be one of the songs done tonight and I was so glad to find you that it’s Allison. She kills it as she usually does and Paula and Simon both agree. I agree that she’s just about the best the show has to offer. Previously I had predicted my top six. Allison is definitely top four. Depending on Matt and Kris she may even be top three.

Note: at 8pm tonight on one of the Starz movie channels Armageddon is playing. Coincidence?

Anoop Doggy Everything I Do I, I Do For You

Oh dear god, please let this half pint vocalist get voted off this week. I’m so tired of him taking good songs and half singing them so that he doesn’t mess up. Does anyone ever put out an album with all the tracks sounding like what Anoop does well? Hell, Luther Vandross, a man who is known to us all as a crooner and a smooth voice even had songs like stop to love. Now we let Scott go home last week. The man that we all know made it as far as he did because people knew he wasn’t a very great singer but we all wanted him to succeed. Anoop is the same thing. He’s a likeable kid, he’s the Slumdog, but his ride is over. Unless Kris shows us how weak he is this week Anoop’s performance here is weak enough for him to go home.

Adam = Born To Be Wild

Y’know, I’m trying to dislike this performance. He’s good. I can’t fault the guy at all. I have yet to vote for Adam this year and I probably won’t even tonight. He is on average the very best not only of this year but of any year. Simon obviously would like someone other than Adam to win. Somehow he found a negative. I can’t imagine. I will say this, one thing that may go wrong for Adam is what I believe went wrong for Chris Daughtry. When Daughtry lost I believe it’s because there were many viewers like me who believed that he was so damn good that he must be getting millions and millions of votes. While the other contenders supporters just kept dialing and dialing every week. If those viewers that like Adam take it for granted that there’s enough people just like them voting for Adam every week. Adam may wake up one week with fewer votes than lesser singers. Remember: the judges save is only there until the round of five. After that, the viewers votes stick. Noone can correct an unjust result.

Matt Giraud – Have You Ever Loved A Woman

New Kids on the Blocks reunion was last year. If only Matt would have been on this show last year it would have been in time to be a back up singer and perhaps he could have slid into their lineup as a fifth or sixth singer. Bryan Adam’s sung this song so well. This performance simply makes you wish the radio was on rather than listen to this attempt at making this He’s good, he’s likeable, but he’s not great. Thank god the show still has Anoop and Lil which will help him sneak into the top six. I don’t see him making it to top four if he keeps going like this.

Question: How come Matt doesn’t get all those bonus points from the judges for playing piano while singing. Is playing the piano any less incredible when you’re a customer who is sighted rather than one that is blind?

Danny Gokey – Endless Love

Wow, I believe danny really tripped if not fell this week. I don’t like his arrangement I don’t like how he changed up the sound of the song. I have a feeling that this song was so memorable to so many people that I’m not sure that we are all going to like this song enough to get the extra votes you need to stay on top.

I believe that these 7 singers have their own groups of fans. The thing they need to do every week is pick up phone voters that had their contestants eliminated. I’m not sure Danny was good enough tonight to pick up new fans. In fact, as it stands right now I have him as the third best this week. This is the third or fourth week in a row he’s third or worse. He really needs to pick it up if he’s going to finish top two like I originally predicted for him.

At this point I find it interesting that Lil, who has been weak for about three or four straight weeks now is going to finish the show. She must have come up with a great song to sing this week.

Kris is up next.

Something I just thought about during the commercials, Kris has been very original in how he has cut up songs and put on his own performance of them. I’m not familiar with this song. This guy is really good at bringing out the sensitivity and boyish charm. A very sweet tender song and I’m really becoming a fan of this kid after his great performace two weeks ago. Randy is tough on him saying it was pitchy. Kara says one of Kris’s best moments.

Lil Rounds – The Rose

Wow. She better kill tonight. Anoop didn’t suck and Danny has way too many fans to go home (I think). Lil has carried herself like a girl who every week expects to be a member of the bottom three. Her lack of confidence has her in a position now that she needs to really really kill it. She’s the last performer and viewers expect the last performer to be the best performer. I hope for her she doesn’t let us down.

I’m not sure. I think she’s a good singer but she’s not really setting herself apart as a more skilled singer than the rest of them. Here’s the problem for Lil tonight. She’s one of the three best voices (as I remember from before the top 13 began) but she’s given some of the most boring performances once we got to the viewers voting. If you’re going to change a classic it better be where you change it to something that sounds better than the original. How can anyone mess with this song? A bad choice. Clearly the worst performance of the evening, even worse, the rest of these singers have had some stellar performances in the eyes of the judges this season. If Lil gets the least votes I sincerely doubt that they are going to vote unanimously to keep her on the show.

Worst Performances this week?

Lil

Anoop

Danny

Matt

Bottom Three Prediction!

Lil

Anoop

Matt

DialIdol.com stats at 11pm

Lil - 9921

Danny - 17669

anoop - 23786

matt - 24008

adam 36244

kris - 37037

allison - 44549

Thursday, March 26, 2009

Idol blog . march 26, 09 round of TEN–Motown

AMERICAN IDOL: Adam Lambert performs in front of the judges on AMERICAN IDOL airing Wednesday, March 25 (8:00-10:00 PM ET/PT) on FOX. CR: Michael Becker / FOX.

My Review with the help of The L.A. Times

I am incorporating a review of last nights show that I found on the L.A. Times website. I read several blogs today and this writer seems to echo what the rest are saying. All quoted text is taken from the LA Times article. URL is at the end of the post.

Motown Week on "American Idol" is a lot like the "required repertoire" part of a classical music competition.

The evening began with a group outing to the Motor City, with Gordy as guide, and included some amiable mentorship from Smokey Robinson, whose natural grace as a vocalist goes so far beyond what these kids have that how little he had to tell them wasn't surprising. Few singers strayed from the interpretations forged by greats such as Marvin Gaye, Stevie Wonder and David Ruffin, and surprisingly few mastered the rudiments of this familiar stuff. It was almost like an argument for natural selection: The strong thrived, and the weak fell back.

One contestant went against that formula, to her detriment. Though in past years America's love for inspirational, gospel-steeped black voices has given rise to "Idol" stars such as Fantasia and Jennifer Hudson, this year Lil Rounds stands as the sole survivor in that slot.

"You are the diva everyone has been waiting to hear," huffed judge Kara DioGuardi after Rounds raced through a clunky take on the Martha and the Vandellas song "(Love Is Like a) Heat Wave." "If you don't nail this week . . . hmmm."

I disagree; I think that Lil was good at this song. I didn’t like the go-go dress but everyone else seemed to. If you listen to Lil you’ll see that she was attempting to do this song close to the original. She wanted to show the judges and the audience how she would perform doing a similar rendition. It’s funny how the judges tell these singers that they need to change things up. Then they switch back to telling them they need to stick with their strengths.

The pressure put on Rounds to succeed, which she didn't fulfill, brought to mind thoughts of high school coaches who think certain children might be better at basketball. Still, her mild failure was nothing compared with Megan Joy's yelpily disastrous "For Once in My Life," or the flu-besieged Michael Sarver's seemingly willful demonstration of diminished lung capacity on "Ain't Too Proud to Beg."

Michael Sarver is plain horrible. I like this guy too just like everyone else does. The roughneck who likes to sing getting this far is more than enough to make us all feel good. Keeping him around any further would be an insult to the competition. He’s just getting carried along because he has a town full of people dialing and redialing in. He just walks around saying the words. There’s no singing here. He’s a sham.

Now, my dear Megan Joy; I, myself, winced as she worked through this song. Yes I agree that it is a bit cabaret. Yes, I agree that she’s nearing the end of her ride if she can’t step it up. Something I haven’t heard anyone say about her performance last night is this; at the end of her listening to the judges she said something like: “We’ll see what my fans have to say about that, vote”. While I adore her and I myself voted over and over for her to the tune of about 150 votes, if she takes her fan base for granted on nights she has a less than good performance, she will lose that fan base rather quickly. I think she’s talented but I don’t think she’s the best. More humility Megan! That’s your road to a cool gig after Idol rather than back to Gunner and looking for babysitters to go karaoke.

Now at the end of putting Megan down, let’s realize that she’s in a competition. If you can’t see that this girl is far better than a third of the top ten and better than at least half then you’re blind. Here are the names of the singers that she is far and away better than: Michael Sarver, Anoop “Slumdog” Desai, and Blind Scott (yes he should have his name listed as Blind Scott because he relies more on sympathy for his condition to get votes than he relies on his ability). Kris, I believe is clearly a less talented singer than Megan, he’s like a cute version of a grown up singer. The boyish charm has to go away soon. He keeps taking songs, and cutting off only a slice of it, then getting praised because he does a mediocre job in a big boys sport. Kind of like how a dad would praise his thirteen year old after scoring a few points in a pick up game he joined where all the players are grown men.

One of those two [Michael or Megan]will probably depart tonight -- no shocker there. Nor will Anoop Desai's survival, despite a wobbly trip into falsetto range on "Ooo, Baby Baby," surprise, considering the wholesome heat the preppy pinup projects.

How does the Slumdog keep getting praise for weak performances where he only bites off half the song? Yes these soft sweet crooning performances are not hard on the ears, but they are not masterful either. Why do we all go so easy on Anoop? It’s a fascinating question.

We've already come to expect these outcomes: another understated win from Kris Allen; a solid, cheerful one from Danny Gokey. Allison Iraheta rocked the house and didn't have to hit every note to impress; Scott MacIntyre worked the awkward sweetness that just might be keeping him in this thing, despite his lack of nuance. (Plus, the wardrobe folks put the unsuspecting, visually impaired crooner in pink pants, which might earn him a mercy pass.)

Read my comments on Kris up above. It’s kind of like how we’re so proud of the mentally challenged when they bag groceries for us at the supermarket. He’s under-talented but picks just the right song to have the grown ups pat him on the back. What song can you see yourself listening to this small voiced singer sing? He has yet to show any testosterone whatsoever. Perhaps he could sing country. There’s the world of the sweet and mousy male singer.

Allison gave me a shiver as she completed the first verse. This girl knows who she is and what her place in music is and what it will be. As great as the men are in this competition they need to worry about Allison. She has the best constructed persona so far. She has a great voice. She’s getting cuter and sexier every week. Check out those hot shoes she had on tonight! Top four and climbing!

Danny got a little bit of criticism but I think it was unfair. He showed another side to himself. If you don’t have a fun playful performance like this once in a while you get stale. I loved when he got in line with his back up dancers and did the little dance step. I think it was unfortunate that the film of him working with Smokey showed him telling Smokey that he would take the advice given, then when he went out for his performance he decided to go against Smokey’s advice.

I gave my opinion of Scott up above. I will say this; he found a way to avoid those high notes which he is horrible at. He is doing a great job of manipulating the judges and the audience with his sweet exterior. I think he’s near the bottom but I myself even root for the blind guy.

And finally, expectedly, we had another revelation from Adam Lambert. With his mall-rat mop slicked back and his cocky rock scream dialed down to a careful whisper, Lambert showed his overacting rivals what blue-eyed soul is at its best.

His version of "The Tracks of My Tears" was simultaneously restrained and painfully emotional, a description of the distance between yearning and fulfillment. Such intelligent readings are what nailing the repertoire is all about.

Holy cow!! I think I mentioned it last week that this boy looks like Elvis. Just a masterful performance in all ways. After getting criticism last week where he was abusive of the song format he was presented with he went right to humility this week. He did everything right to endear himself once again to people who found him callous and abrasive. Big ups for this kid. He is truly a performer. If he’s able to continue to manipulate the audience so well he’s a shoe in to win.

Predictions: Unfortunately the worst criticism from the judges fell on Megan and Michael. Megan even further seemed oblivious to the negatives and self satisfied that her supporters would vote her through. Michael was sick this week and the whole country loves this big lug already. I have to face it, my girl Megan Joy may be getting bounced this week. I believe that Michael or Anoop should be the next ones to go. But the jealous females out there like to get rid of the prettiest girl. At the very least I know very few of my Idol friends that are female have gotten behind her. You can’t win this show without the female vote.

My grades:

Adam: - A+++

Allison - A++

Matt - A

Danny - A

Lil - B

Megan - B

Kris - C

Anoop - C-

Scott - C-

Michael - F

Snagged from: http://latimesblogs.latimes.com/americanidoltracker/2009/03/motown-week-on.html#more

Wednesday, March 18, 2009

American Idol Review Mar17, 09 - Rnd of 11

Country week sucks. Since I will probably know very few of these songs I’m not too excited. At least we get the country week out of the way quickly. The girls should do well here because if anything country offers women better songs than any of the other genres.
Michael Sarver - Ain't going down till the sun comes up
I don't know how to sing. I'm pretty sure this is not a good example. What a d#*k randy Travis is for not telling this guy just how horrible he sounds. Like everyone else I root for this guy. But I think it's the fourth quarter two-minute warning and he's fourteen points behind. We'll see.
=Randy: cool song but you didn't do much with it. Kara: Personality. She's letting him down easy nicely. Paula: nice nice. Simon: set it straight.
----note: do these contestants realize that when Simon gives them a hard time, if people who are voting liked their performance they're still going to like it. By talking back it gives credibility to what Simon is saying. Remember this, Simon is the expert here. He and Randy. Randy gets to play the nice guy because he knows Simon is there to lay down the justice. The absolute worst thing to do is come back at Simon like he's a fool. He'll win in the end. Whether viewers admit it or not they listen to the judges when thinking about calling in votes. As soon as all the singers worst than their favorite are eliminated they will shift their allegiance to whom they think deserves to win. ---------
Allison - Blame It On Your Heart
She rocks. I like the changes in her hairstyle. I'm rather sure that was a perfect performance. Judges agree. Simon did find something negative. But that’s good for the show.
Kris – To Make You Feel My Love
Boring, boring, and more boring. This is one song I actually know. Garth Brooks has a very strong, masculine voice. This sounds like the boyish rendition. Like if New Kids on the Block had covered the song. To me he came across whiny. “To make you feel my love” should be a forceful statement with a hint of vulnerability. He came across like a little boy asking his mommy to play checkers. The lyrics are fantastic but his voice doesn’t compliment it. It’s the kind of song you’d never leave on the radio. Judges: suckers for a sweet ballad.
Lil - Independence Day
I don’t know a lot of country singers but I do know this McBride chick. Lil doesn’t have to worry about getting eliminated. She has one of the best voices. It was less than great to me because I think the McBride chick does it much better. Remember, she’s out of her element. Judges: ….> time for a rant.
--------------- Rant:
Ok, these performers have to do something country tonight. Now Lil is clearly not a country artist yet she chose to do a country song. Like they were instructed. Now she gets bashed for doing what they tell her to do. Yes it does sound karaoke; it’s not her kind of song. It drives me mad hearing these guys (who are experts) criticize song choices and singers sounding out of their element when they constrain so tightly their choices.
End Rant…………
Adam Lambert – Ring of Fire.
<is it every week that all that’s going to change with this guy is the color of his leather jacket. I feel like we’re hanging out at a shopping mall in 1985>
<can someone get back to me on what meaning men with black fingernails carries. Is it like a rainbow sticker on the back of a car>
Okay. They’re preparing us for something strange. Ok… lot to say here. The guy is talented, for sure, but this song does not lend itself to this. It’s a simple song and he’s making it extravagant. I can handle the sitar, I saw Love Guru, and I’m down. But it was like genetically altering Christie Brinkley turning her into some Porno star. As the song continues it becomes embarrassing. These high notes sound too feminine. Oh god, as he’s running his hands through the air, on “burn burn burn” he pulls his shirt up a little. Burlesque? The kid is talented, but if he keeps rubbing Americas face in the dirt by screwing around with standards he’ll gain the ire of his audience even if he is the best performer available. You show your talent here not to “show off” but to gain their acceptance and appreciation. Simon: Indulgent Rubbish. So very true. He gets one. He keeps this up and he’s going to alienate the exact people he wants and needs to endear.
I’m sure of one thing. If they have two people standing on the stage at the end of the show as they name the last one that’s going on. They’re probably going to put Adam up there with whoever is getting the boot.
Scott – Wild Angels
If I weren’t committed to writing this I’d just fast forward through this performance. It’s going to be another song just like all of the ones we’ve already heard. Well done, but just not my cup of tea.
Ok I fought off the impulse to fast forward. I’m glad I didn’t. I like this guy even if I don’t admit it. That song could have replaced one of Christopher Cross’s songs. Like the one that was the theme to the movie Arthur. Except he should really stay away from high notes. That’s not his thing. Judge: Paula: W T F. Piano is a crutch. He should be a show man. Would she say the same to Stevie Wonder, or Ray Charles? Paula, you just helped to continue the martyr syndrome and in fact you’ve just made me like this kid more because you attacked him. Thanks Paula. Now I agree with Randy and even Kara, Scott, get off the boring songs, do something more creative.
Alexis – Jolene
Ooh, I’ve heard this song before. I think she’s very good and this performance tonight aside from one high note she really mutilated, was a good one. She’s safe to move on.
Randy: pitch problems Alexis replies – “trying to bring my own little flavor to it.” Alexis, messing up with the pitch is not a change in flavor; it’s more like scorching the soup. Paula: kisses Alexis’s butt. Simon: Forgettable. That is kind of true. But then again, it’s country. It’s a cookie cutter format. The whiny woman song. It’s on every radio station several times a day.
Wow. We’re more than halfway through the show and nobody has done Leann Rimes yet. I thought it would be done at least by two artists.
Danny Gokey
<Wow, Randy Travis says this guy has a soulfulness that most singers wished they had.>
I’ll bet they’ll say he started out weak. But boy when he hit this chorus. It was like turning the lights on in a darkened art studio. Just a burst of color. If god suddenly blessed me with the gift of song, I wouldn’t mind if he gave me this boy’s voice.
What the hell is up with Kara’s shirt today? Is that the same one that Jamie Lee Curtis wore in Trading Places?
Anoop Dawg – You Were Always On My Mind
With Randy he sounds good. It’s a boring safe song. I’m skipping this one. He’ll make it because the forum people still like him. Plus, it’s the year of the Slumdog Millionaire. He’s safe for at least two more weeks.
Megan Joy – I Go Walking After Midnight
<Never heard this song before>
Randy Travis loved it. That has to be good enough for another week.
Look, I want this girl to sing in my ear and especially the little mmmm noises she makes. I think she did great and she looked lovely. Love the hair tonight. How many more weeks am I going to see her before someone emails me a picture of her tattoo. (I voted 30 times for my gurl.) Randy: impressed. Kara: can she quit saying “Here’s the thing”. Can she come up with some new phrase?
Matt – So Small
He is my second favorite male performer. The Justin thing he’s definitely working the similarities that have been mentioned before. I think he’s good but I’d like to see him shoot for something other than the cute boy band member appeal.
Best Performances this week.
Allison, Danny, Megan, Matt …. In that order
Worst Performances this week:
Michael, Adam, Alexis, Kris
Michael will be voted off. Maybe Anoop.
My Final Six Prediction:
Danny, Matt, Lil, Adam, Allison, Megan

Wednesday, March 11, 2009

American Idol March 10, 2009 - round of 13

oh boy. michael jackson week
first thought in my head is.. which artists will this hurt.
the rocker chick
megan corkrey
Jasmine
i ahve a feeling these three will give less than stellar performances

Lil Rounds - The Way you make me feel
what a ridiculous song for a girl to sing. it's totally about a man to a woman. this dress is ridiculous as well. i'm totally unimpressed with this girl tonight. wonder if the judges will give her some love. Her pure talent is enough to get her to the final half dozen. at least simon pointed out the ridiculous outfit!

Scott Macintyre
Wonder if the blind dude sympathy continues. This show has done all it can to promote this guy. Maybe now they'll let him be judged as an equal among the rest of the singers.
Having said all that, this guy can sing. He's safe for several weeks. Definitely top six with what the competition is.

=================================
Simon is booed for his opinion. He points out the fact that everyone is avoiding when talking about scott. He has to pick songs that the fans know if he expects to win this competition. That being said, he did the right thing. He was given the assignment of picking a song by Michael Jackson, he found one that Mike did that fits his style. He's not going to be doing MJ songs if he wins this competion. it's unfair to all of the performers to be told that they must do a song that was recorded by some specific artist.
Danny Gokey - PYT
I really like this guy. I think Moana needs to check herself that there's nobody here other than Lil Rounds. Although I think that Simon has the courage to point out that this is very similar to a Vegas lounge show. Still, I say the guy is a very good singer.
I can sound like fanboy here but he's top four! Simon: "White guy with soul"

Michael Sarver - You Are Not Alone
Coming into tonight I thought this guy was one of the weakest contestants. I think he did a good job. He will make tonights cut. For this contestant every week he survives is an accomplishment. He's a fan favorite and he earns the fans favor. Good Job.
Jasmine - I'll be there
Ok, we go to commercial and we know Jasmine is next. We're coming up on the firt performer that I hope does poorly. I'll Be There is probably a great song choice. She slowed down the tempo of the song a bit too much for me. Great finish.
Kris Allen - Remember the Time
The worst performance so far but he still sounds good. Much better than I expected of him based on his first performance.

Allison (rocker chick) - Give in to me
Wow!! Shame is america likes R&B and Country. Rockers don't do well on this show. But this girl is cute enough that they might keep her around. The rocker can scream better than the R&B girls.
Anoop - Beat It.
Can he chew all he's just bitten off. He messed up the words to start the song. Wow, can't figure out what all the bloggers loved about this kid. He's the first to get voted off i think. Cept he's got all that slumdog love. Look, if you decide to do one of the 50 best pop songs of all time you've got to be unbelievable. He wasn't unbelievable.

Jorge Nunez - Never Can Say Goodbye
another rare situation where I'm hoping the contestant bombs. Does anyone else picture Tony Orlando? I do. I really liked how he sung this song. Simon is right about the arrangement, but i liked his voice here.

=================================
Wouldn't it be nice if when these judges say a song isn't good for them that the judges could recommend a better song for the performer? (As I write this Kara recommends Man In The Mirror, but usually the judges don't)
Megan = rockin robin
Not sure if i like this as much as I like her. I can say that the way she sung it, the whole way I didn't once think to myself what Michael sounded like when he sung it. Wow Paula wasn't 100% positive. Smon: stupid song chioce. She's strange.. I can see her in top six and also see her voted off before final 8.
Adam Lambert - Black or White
He's very good. Very very good. While he may be the best singer he's not my favorite.

Matt Giraud - Human Nature
Now you see why I was voting for him every step of the way. Commercial look, good voice. Very nice performance. he's Top six for sure.

Alexis Grace - Dirty Diana
She was one that I loved the first week but it's been so long I can't remember what it is that I loved about her. I kinda like the way she's doin the song.

tough to decide this week.
worst performances:
Kris Allen - Remember The Time
Anoop - Beat It
Lil Rounds - The Way You Make Me Feel

=================================
=================================

Wednesday, March 4, 2009

American Idol Review Mar 03, 2009 7-9 of 12

temp_idol_2009Same as last week, I’m going to listen to all the songs then vote for 5 different artists. I plan to vote twice each for favorite man and woman, and once for the other three. After last weeks results where my favorite singer got cut I may vote more than twice for my favorite.
----Von Smith. 22. You're all I need to get by (Marvin Gaye)
Well done by him. Good stage presence. It was a very professional performance. I liked it. I think very strong opener. Where does that soulful voice come from? He’s a kind of small dude.
----Taylor Vaifanua 17 If I Ain't Got You (Alicia Keyes)
She is a cute girl. She sounds good, but for my tastes it’s too far from sounding like the original. I think she's very polished. Kara complains that she has no Insight Into her as a person. Says performance leaves her cold. Similar to saying bla bla bla. Simon says not terrible not great.
----Alex Wagner-Trugman I Guess That's Why They Call It The Blues (Elton John)
A very talented boy. Really changed around the song from Elton's arrangement. Always felt like he was falling a little bit behind the music. He did his best to be a showman. I think it was a tiny bit overdone. Kara is such a floozy. Jeez. She adds nothing. She likes going last and she likes knowing what the others said before speaking.
----Adrianna Afsar 17, The Winner Takes It All (Abba)
Now I know I know this song, but her arrangement and her voice don't bring it back to mind. She starts out weakly. I’m not an expert but I think she messed up some notes early. Towards the end she gets louder and I think she excels here. Not sure ... I wasn't floored. Simon says absolutely horrible song way too big for her. Simon: Says it was like a funeral during first half. Randy: bad choice, too big of an attempt, Kara talking about sunshine. Paula: recognizes that she did parts well.
----Ju'not Joyner Hey There Delilah (Plain White Tees)
As they announce the song I’m wondering how many others are thinking of Jamie...? W O W... I love this guy's voice. Very smooth, he really slows down the tempo of the original, very soothing. I think he was a little weak on the high notes. Randy: loved It Kara: bla bla bla... I think she wants ju'not. Paula: loved It. Simon: complimentary... little bit safe.
----Kristen McNamara 23 Give Me One Reason (Tracey Chapman)
Very well done, a totally different voice singing here than that little girl voice she was speaking with Ryan and Nathaniel. She owns this song in my opinion. Good performances. Wow, so much confidence as she's singing. Oh god here we go with stupid Kara criticizing the song choice. She totally banged that song. Paula: great vocals Simon: puzzling who she is. Talking some psycho babble about how she doesn't know who she is. Randy: tried to do too much with the song. At the end of her performance I’m almost sure she's earned a vote from me
----Nathaniel Marshall 19 I would Do Anything for Love (Meat Loaf)
This boy as strange as he looks, he's a good singer. I really like the arrangement; I think he did a very good job. Of the 7 performers so far the only one's better are the Von Smith and Kristen...Simon says Excruciating. Randy: says he's a good singer. Kara: you got a voice... wants him to give a serious performance. Paula: bla bla bla. You know these judges keep accusing him of being not serious enough. This kid, if you watched the previous shows, he has a lot riding on this. The kid has had a tough road to this point. Unlike so many others in similar positions he doesn't look to play the pity card. He looks right into the camera, with his goofy headband and says, deal with It, this is me. There's courage behind this young man that I find admirable Kudos to Nathan.
-- I’m pretty sure I’m going to award Nathan one of my votes.
----Felicia Barton 26 - No one (Alicia Keyes)
Big song. Can she do it? She looks good in black. I love her sound So far. First time through the three "No ones" I really like her. I like the way she hold's a note (I’m tone deaf though, just hear me sing Santa Claus Is Coming to Town). I think I might be in love! Paula: her gift is unbelievable. Simon: first part better than second, copycat (good thing to me) Randy: thought it was hot and looks good. Kara: From what she’s said I think she would go shopping with this girl. That seems to be an Important factor with this airhead.
-- Gets my vote!!!
----Scott Macintyre Mandolin Rain (Bruce Hornsby)
A favorite song of mine- Wow. Very well done. Exactly what I expected from him. Randy: not the most perfect vocal. Great parts were really great. He can feel Scott’s passion. Kara: You move mountains. Brings up passion. Comes from his heart. Feels she knows the essence of Scott. Paula: so happy and proud he's here. He's one of the shows finest Simon: Scott's growing on him.
----Kendall Beard - This One's For The Girl (Kristina McBride)
Looks - gets my vote. Song - Can't vote for her. Then again I never heard this song. Country is like the Arabic language of music. It's just foreign to me. Kara: Issues with the performance. Paula: best outfit. Simon: halfway through I couldn't wait for it to end. Shrilly. I surely agree with Simon.
----Jorge Nunez - Don't Let The Sun Go Down On Me (Elton John)
The boy is talented but not my bag baby. Puerto Rican accent singing Elton John? Not sure. Paula: hugging him. Simon: Actually a very very good singer. Randy: The vocals that matter. not perfect but really really good. "nice one baby" Kara: You’re born to sing. I know Kara's next gig, opening act for Tony Robbins the motivational speaker. Jorge Is perhaps the most likeable singer so far. He says at end, when I get excited I can't think to speak correctly In English. So they tell him to speak In Spanish. Very endearing.
----LIl Rounds Be WIthout You (Mary J. Blige)
Well since this girl is last you have to figure that the judges/producers figure her to advance. All the last performers advanced. God damn this girl can freaking sing. I bet she sounds good reading a recipe or the grocery list. How am I not going to vote for her? Simon: sounds just like Blige. Says she has great prospects. One of the best singers found so far. Randy: unbelievable vocals. Kara: Let me tell ya girl. You've been Lil since we met you. Paula: first class.
Wow. Now that it’s over it’s going to be damn hard to pick five. Can't wait to see the results tomorrow. You know, these performers had the best shot. They had the longest time to prepare for the show and they got to see 24 other performances. As I watch the last part of the show and hear the final samples of the performances. I believe the best male Is Jorge.
The best female is definitely Lil. My second favorites are Ju’Not and Felicia. Felicia, I believes is the third best singer tonight. As I said earlier my fifth vote is going to Nathaniel for the reasons I gave earlier.
LIl Rounds (1)
Jorge (2)
Felicia (3)
Ju'Not (1)
Nathaniel (1)
My Prediction for the three that will advance after voting:
Lil
Felicia
Scott
While Lil Is the best singer tonight I’m only voting for her once. She will surely get enough votes to be the clear winner. Jorge gets two votes as I promised. Felicia gets three votes. Why? Because the talent was closely packed this week and my favorite lost last week. While I believe that Felicia was the third best performer this week she was definitely my favorite. Scott: after listening to the final clips of the singers I realize that we all probably like him more because he is blind than his voice warrants. That's why I decided not to vote for him. His performance wasn't outstanding, just good. I don't think Scott has It In him to do more than mandolin rain type songs. Is that really what an "American Idol" should sound like? As I promised earlier I’m awarding my fifth vote to Nathaniel. I really wish him well. I'd really like to see Ju'not move on. The women happen to be the more talented this week. I thought the same last week but the votes didn’t support me.
In other voting:
Best looking girl:
1. Kendall
2. Felicia
3. Kristen
Coolest Guy:
1. Ju' Not
2. Jorge
3. Scott

Thursday, February 26, 2009

American Idol Review Feb 25, 2009 2nd 12

temp_meganTonight I will be voting for 5 of the performers. 2 of them will get 2 votes each (one boy, one girl) these are the notes that I took as the show progressed.
Why the hell did they add this Kara girl as a judge? It's like a slice of white bread added to the middle of a great deli sandwich. Who needs more white bread? Sheesh, she's a master of the obvious. Not something a show really needs.
Jasmine Murray - love song
Not a bad performance.. A bit forced. Like she's imitating singers she's seen. Lacking in stage presence but she's better than the average final 36 performer. But not even a contender to make final 3 tonight.
Matt Giraud - viva la vida
Wanted to put a soulful twist on a white boy rock song.
I think this kid is a hell of a singer. It hurts me judging him because I don't know the original. I like him. I certainly root for him to end up being one of the final 3.
Jeanine Vailes - this love, maroon 5
Undoubtedly she'll go down as having the nicest legs in the performance. To my untrained ear she sounded less tan stellar and certainly unremarkable. Sometimes it's almost embarrassing how the judges put the performers in the situation where they feel they need to beg to go on. I don't think her being 28 plays any role in making a decision. I think Simon put it best. "Completely inappropriate song for her". But even if she picked a great song she's at best average compared with the talent ahead.
Nick Mitchell - song I don't know
Utterly horrible. Obviously the judges don't even get out to see comedy shows very often because this guy isn't even funny. He's an attention whore and I won't give him any more. Jamar (Gokey's best friend) is probably cursing right now that he was cut and this guy went forward.
Allison Iraheta - Alone (by Heart)
Whether this girl is 16 or 26 she can sing. Loved it how she took over the stage. No fear, which I think is the biggest thing negatively affecting the singers in this format. She makes me believe that probably out of this set of 12 performers there will probably be two females. Also.. So nice to see a rock song.
Kris Allen - Man In the Mirror (Michael Jackson)
I mostly like his rendition. Myself I think this kid, tonight, did as good as he possibly can. I would not vote for him because I really don't think that over time he can improve very much. I certainly think that if there weren't nine being cut he'd finish in the top half. But only three are going forward. He's on the bubble.
Megan Joy Corkrey - Put Your Records On
I fell in love with this girl on her first audition. She's gorgeous and a unique, very unique voice. From her hair to her cute hips shaking back and forth and of course her enchanting smile. She sang the song as if it was written just for her. I think I’ve just found my favorite female contender. I think she is fabulous.
Matt Breitzke - If You Could Only See (Tonic)
Love the song. Think he's doing great half way through. To my untrained ear he sounds like he's right in there. He definitely picked a good song for him. Considering he comes in as a tough white guy who loves his wife and kids. It will keep his adorability factor up for the girls. Simon says he hates the song, but it would seem that Simon hates any rock performance. Remember how he was the only one that gave Chris Daughtry trouble. Simon seems to frown every time a rock song is done.
Jessie Langseth - Bette Davis Eyes (Kim Carnes)
She picked a good song for her; Carnes sang the song with a gravelly voice. Fits this girl, she's showing great attitude, and stage presence. First half of the song was much better than the second. I think she should have high hopes for the second chance competition. The previous two girls (Megan and Allison) are so good that it dwarfs her performance. But she can be a contender in the second chance competition.
Kai Kalama- What Becomes of the Broken Hearted
I'm thinking of Johnny Mathis. Well I have a great imagination. If enough phone voters watched the early shows they'll remember the story of this boy taking care of his mother and that might get him a few extra votes. H's a very likeable kid. I really like him. Hard to be sure if it's a personality thing ... at end he seems to hold a note very well. Simon says there was nothing distinctive.. Randy says it was safe.
I have to say at this time to the judges...
Knock knock judges, these people only get one chance. Simon you decided to cut 9 people per show here. These people essentially get one chance for viewers out there to connect with them. Bashing singers for "not taking chances" or nitpicking over the selection of the song that they wanted them to make. Just critique the song. Don't put in the voter’s heads that the singer should have sung another song. If they had more than one week to get through then your advice about which song to sing might be useful. Any negative words by the judges are an encouragement to voters out there to pass these individual singers.
Mishavonna Henson - Drops of Jupiter (train)
A song I like. But I don't often like girls singing boy songs and vice versa. I really like this girl... it's a bit slow. She’s a little off on some notes. I have a feeling that Simon's going to rip her. Either I’ve listened to his criticisms so much that I’m making them my own but she looks like she'd be best suited for a spot as a Coyote Ugly bartender. Paula: she sang well but didn't excite her. Says she can sing. Simon: great song sums her up she’s serious technically great but something left him cold. Randy: song didn't show her off. Kara: bla bla bla bla bla... moronic blabber... yada yada yada.
Adam Lambert - Satisfaction (Rolling Stones)
Dude is working as a singer, he does musicals. As we go to commercial after Mishavonna I'm expecting something great from Adam. I suspect that two slots this week will go to the girls. So Adam needs his A game if he's going to be the lone dude to advance. Does Adam give you the impression he belongs on the Partridge Family. He picked a huge song. The black nail polish gets on my nerves but the guy is definitely talented. Having already compared him to Keith Partridge I’ll now add cross that image with Freddie Mercury. A lot of screaming. So not a rock rendition of a classic rock song. I'm interested to see what judges say. Paula: he's in a league of his own, putting others in rear view mirror. Simon: Finds this one difficult. Parts excruciatingly bad parts were very good. Randy: Loved it. Says Adam is a very versatile. Manic performance. DaBomb. Since two out of three liked him surely Kara will. She says he has great range but babbles. She's no help.
Megan (3)
Adam Lambert (1)
Allison (1)
Matt Breitzke (1)
Kai Kalama (1)
At the end of the show these are the votes I phoned in.
I know at the beginning I said that I was going to vote two for top male and two for top female but I want to do my all to get Megan into the next round. More than enough people will be impressed by Adam's big voice that I'm fairly confident that he won't miss my extra vote.
I wanted to vote for Kai but I actually liked Matt Breitzke. This competition never has enough rockers and always has far too many R&B screamin beltin it out singers. I think it's simply academic. I think the three that will advance will be Megan, Allison, and Adam.
So ends this Johnny MoFo Press Release
....So Let It Be Written... So Let It Be Done......