My Review with the help of The L.A. Times
I am incorporating a review of last nights show that I found on the L.A. Times website. I read several blogs today and this writer seems to echo what the rest are saying. All quoted text is taken from the LA Times article. URL is at the end of the post.
Motown Week on "American Idol" is a lot like the "required repertoire" part of a classical music competition.
The evening began with a group outing to the Motor City, with Gordy as guide, and included some amiable mentorship from Smokey Robinson, whose natural grace as a vocalist goes so far beyond what these kids have that how little he had to tell them wasn't surprising. Few singers strayed from the interpretations forged by greats such as Marvin Gaye, Stevie Wonder and David Ruffin, and surprisingly few mastered the rudiments of this familiar stuff. It was almost like an argument for natural selection: The strong thrived, and the weak fell back.
One contestant went against that formula, to her detriment. Though in past years America's love for inspirational, gospel-steeped black voices has given rise to "Idol" stars such as Fantasia and Jennifer Hudson, this year Lil Rounds stands as the sole survivor in that slot.
"You are the diva everyone has been waiting to hear," huffed judge Kara DioGuardi after Rounds raced through a clunky take on the Martha and the Vandellas song "(Love Is Like a) Heat Wave." "If you don't nail this week . . . hmmm."
I disagree; I think that Lil was good at this song. I didn’t like the go-go dress but everyone else seemed to. If you listen to Lil you’ll see that she was attempting to do this song close to the original. She wanted to show the judges and the audience how she would perform doing a similar rendition. It’s funny how the judges tell these singers that they need to change things up. Then they switch back to telling them they need to stick with their strengths.
The pressure put on Rounds to succeed, which she didn't fulfill, brought to mind thoughts of high school coaches who think certain children might be better at basketball. Still, her mild failure was nothing compared with Megan Joy's yelpily disastrous "For Once in My Life," or the flu-besieged Michael Sarver's seemingly willful demonstration of diminished lung capacity on "Ain't Too Proud to Beg."
Michael Sarver is plain horrible. I like this guy too just like everyone else does. The roughneck who likes to sing getting this far is more than enough to make us all feel good. Keeping him around any further would be an insult to the competition. He’s just getting carried along because he has a town full of people dialing and redialing in. He just walks around saying the words. There’s no singing here. He’s a sham.
Now, my dear Megan Joy; I, myself, winced as she worked through this song. Yes I agree that it is a bit cabaret. Yes, I agree that she’s nearing the end of her ride if she can’t step it up. Something I haven’t heard anyone say about her performance last night is this; at the end of her listening to the judges she said something like: “We’ll see what my fans have to say about that, vote”. While I adore her and I myself voted over and over for her to the tune of about 150 votes, if she takes her fan base for granted on nights she has a less than good performance, she will lose that fan base rather quickly. I think she’s talented but I don’t think she’s the best. More humility Megan! That’s your road to a cool gig after Idol rather than back to Gunner and looking for babysitters to go karaoke.
Now at the end of putting Megan down, let’s realize that she’s in a competition. If you can’t see that this girl is far better than a third of the top ten and better than at least half then you’re blind. Here are the names of the singers that she is far and away better than: Michael Sarver, Anoop “Slumdog” Desai, and Blind Scott (yes he should have his name listed as Blind Scott because he relies more on sympathy for his condition to get votes than he relies on his ability). Kris, I believe is clearly a less talented singer than Megan, he’s like a cute version of a grown up singer. The boyish charm has to go away soon. He keeps taking songs, and cutting off only a slice of it, then getting praised because he does a mediocre job in a big boys sport. Kind of like how a dad would praise his thirteen year old after scoring a few points in a pick up game he joined where all the players are grown men.
One of those two [Michael or Megan]will probably depart tonight -- no shocker there. Nor will Anoop Desai's survival, despite a wobbly trip into falsetto range on "Ooo, Baby Baby," surprise, considering the wholesome heat the preppy pinup projects.
How does the Slumdog keep getting praise for weak performances where he only bites off half the song? Yes these soft sweet crooning performances are not hard on the ears, but they are not masterful either. Why do we all go so easy on Anoop? It’s a fascinating question.
We've already come to expect these outcomes: another understated win from Kris Allen; a solid, cheerful one from Danny Gokey. Allison Iraheta rocked the house and didn't have to hit every note to impress; Scott MacIntyre worked the awkward sweetness that just might be keeping him in this thing, despite his lack of nuance. (Plus, the wardrobe folks put the unsuspecting, visually impaired crooner in pink pants, which might earn him a mercy pass.)
Read my comments on Kris up above. It’s kind of like how we’re so proud of the mentally challenged when they bag groceries for us at the supermarket. He’s under-talented but picks just the right song to have the grown ups pat him on the back. What song can you see yourself listening to this small voiced singer sing? He has yet to show any testosterone whatsoever. Perhaps he could sing country. There’s the world of the sweet and mousy male singer.
Allison gave me a shiver as she completed the first verse. This girl knows who she is and what her place in music is and what it will be. As great as the men are in this competition they need to worry about Allison. She has the best constructed persona so far. She has a great voice. She’s getting cuter and sexier every week. Check out those hot shoes she had on tonight! Top four and climbing!
Danny got a little bit of criticism but I think it was unfair. He showed another side to himself. If you don’t have a fun playful performance like this once in a while you get stale. I loved when he got in line with his back up dancers and did the little dance step. I think it was unfortunate that the film of him working with Smokey showed him telling Smokey that he would take the advice given, then when he went out for his performance he decided to go against Smokey’s advice.
I gave my opinion of Scott up above. I will say this; he found a way to avoid those high notes which he is horrible at. He is doing a great job of manipulating the judges and the audience with his sweet exterior. I think he’s near the bottom but I myself even root for the blind guy.
And finally, expectedly, we had another revelation from Adam Lambert. With his mall-rat mop slicked back and his cocky rock scream dialed down to a careful whisper, Lambert showed his overacting rivals what blue-eyed soul is at its best.
His version of "The Tracks of My Tears" was simultaneously restrained and painfully emotional, a description of the distance between yearning and fulfillment. Such intelligent readings are what nailing the repertoire is all about.
Holy cow!! I think I mentioned it last week that this boy looks like Elvis. Just a masterful performance in all ways. After getting criticism last week where he was abusive of the song format he was presented with he went right to humility this week. He did everything right to endear himself once again to people who found him callous and abrasive. Big ups for this kid. He is truly a performer. If he’s able to continue to manipulate the audience so well he’s a shoe in to win.
Predictions: Unfortunately the worst criticism from the judges fell on Megan and Michael. Megan even further seemed oblivious to the negatives and self satisfied that her supporters would vote her through. Michael was sick this week and the whole country loves this big lug already. I have to face it, my girl Megan Joy may be getting bounced this week. I believe that Michael or Anoop should be the next ones to go. But the jealous females out there like to get rid of the prettiest girl. At the very least I know very few of my Idol friends that are female have gotten behind her. You can’t win this show without the female vote.
My grades:
Adam: - A+++
Allison - A++
Matt - A
Danny - A
Lil - B
Megan - B
Kris - C
Anoop - C-
Scott - C-
Michael - F
Snagged from: http://latimesblogs.latimes.com/americanidoltracker/2009/03/motown-week-on.html#more
No comments:
Post a Comment