----Von Smith. 22. You're all I need to get by (Marvin Gaye)
Well done by him. Good stage presence. It was a very professional performance. I liked it. I think very strong opener. Where does that soulful voice come from? He’s a kind of small dude.
----Taylor Vaifanua 17 If I Ain't Got You (Alicia Keyes)
She is a cute girl. She sounds good, but for my tastes it’s too far from sounding like the original. I think she's very polished. Kara complains that she has no Insight Into her as a person. Says performance leaves her cold. Similar to saying bla bla bla. Simon says not terrible not great.
----Alex Wagner-Trugman I Guess That's Why They Call It The Blues (Elton John)
A very talented boy. Really changed around the song from Elton's arrangement. Always felt like he was falling a little bit behind the music. He did his best to be a showman. I think it was a tiny bit overdone. Kara is such a floozy. Jeez. She adds nothing. She likes going last and she likes knowing what the others said before speaking.
----Adrianna Afsar 17, The Winner Takes It All (Abba)
Now I know I know this song, but her arrangement and her voice don't bring it back to mind. She starts out weakly. I’m not an expert but I think she messed up some notes early. Towards the end she gets louder and I think she excels here. Not sure ... I wasn't floored. Simon says absolutely horrible song way too big for her. Simon: Says it was like a funeral during first half. Randy: bad choice, too big of an attempt, Kara talking about sunshine. Paula: recognizes that she did parts well.
----Ju'not Joyner Hey There Delilah (Plain White Tees)
As they announce the song I’m wondering how many others are thinking of Jamie...? W O W... I love this guy's voice. Very smooth, he really slows down the tempo of the original, very soothing. I think he was a little weak on the high notes. Randy: loved It Kara: bla bla bla... I think she wants ju'not. Paula: loved It. Simon: complimentary... little bit safe.
----Kristen McNamara 23 Give Me One Reason (Tracey Chapman)
Very well done, a totally different voice singing here than that little girl voice she was speaking with Ryan and Nathaniel. She owns this song in my opinion. Good performances. Wow, so much confidence as she's singing. Oh god here we go with stupid Kara criticizing the song choice. She totally banged that song. Paula: great vocals Simon: puzzling who she is. Talking some psycho babble about how she doesn't know who she is. Randy: tried to do too much with the song. At the end of her performance I’m almost sure she's earned a vote from me
----Nathaniel Marshall 19 I would Do Anything for Love (Meat Loaf)
This boy as strange as he looks, he's a good singer. I really like the arrangement; I think he did a very good job. Of the 7 performers so far the only one's better are the Von Smith and Kristen...Simon says Excruciating. Randy: says he's a good singer. Kara: you got a voice... wants him to give a serious performance. Paula: bla bla bla. You know these judges keep accusing him of being not serious enough. This kid, if you watched the previous shows, he has a lot riding on this. The kid has had a tough road to this point. Unlike so many others in similar positions he doesn't look to play the pity card. He looks right into the camera, with his goofy headband and says, deal with It, this is me. There's courage behind this young man that I find admirable Kudos to Nathan.
-- I’m pretty sure I’m going to award Nathan one of my votes.
----Felicia Barton 26 - No one (Alicia Keyes)
Big song. Can she do it? She looks good in black. I love her sound So far. First time through the three "No ones" I really like her. I like the way she hold's a note (I’m tone deaf though, just hear me sing Santa Claus Is Coming to Town). I think I might be in love! Paula: her gift is unbelievable. Simon: first part better than second, copycat (good thing to me) Randy: thought it was hot and looks good. Kara: From what she’s said I think she would go shopping with this girl. That seems to be an Important factor with this airhead.
-- Gets my vote!!!
----Scott Macintyre Mandolin Rain (Bruce Hornsby)
A favorite song of mine- Wow. Very well done. Exactly what I expected from him. Randy: not the most perfect vocal. Great parts were really great. He can feel Scott’s passion. Kara: You move mountains. Brings up passion. Comes from his heart. Feels she knows the essence of Scott. Paula: so happy and proud he's here. He's one of the shows finest Simon: Scott's growing on him.
----Kendall Beard - This One's For The Girl (Kristina McBride)
Looks - gets my vote. Song - Can't vote for her. Then again I never heard this song. Country is like the Arabic language of music. It's just foreign to me. Kara: Issues with the performance. Paula: best outfit. Simon: halfway through I couldn't wait for it to end. Shrilly. I surely agree with Simon.
----Jorge Nunez - Don't Let The Sun Go Down On Me (Elton John)
The boy is talented but not my bag baby. Puerto Rican accent singing Elton John? Not sure. Paula: hugging him. Simon: Actually a very very good singer. Randy: The vocals that matter. not perfect but really really good. "nice one baby" Kara: You’re born to sing. I know Kara's next gig, opening act for Tony Robbins the motivational speaker. Jorge Is perhaps the most likeable singer so far. He says at end, when I get excited I can't think to speak correctly In English. So they tell him to speak In Spanish. Very endearing.
----LIl Rounds Be WIthout You (Mary J. Blige)
Well since this girl is last you have to figure that the judges/producers figure her to advance. All the last performers advanced. God damn this girl can freaking sing. I bet she sounds good reading a recipe or the grocery list. How am I not going to vote for her? Simon: sounds just like Blige. Says she has great prospects. One of the best singers found so far. Randy: unbelievable vocals. Kara: Let me tell ya girl. You've been Lil since we met you. Paula: first class.
Wow. Now that it’s over it’s going to be damn hard to pick five. Can't wait to see the results tomorrow. You know, these performers had the best shot. They had the longest time to prepare for the show and they got to see 24 other performances. As I watch the last part of the show and hear the final samples of the performances. I believe the best male Is Jorge.
The best female is definitely Lil. My second favorites are Ju’Not and Felicia. Felicia, I believes is the third best singer tonight. As I said earlier my fifth vote is going to Nathaniel for the reasons I gave earlier.
LIl Rounds (1)
Jorge (2)
Felicia (3)
Ju'Not (1)
Nathaniel (1)
My Prediction for the three that will advance after voting:
Lil
Felicia
Scott
While Lil Is the best singer tonight I’m only voting for her once. She will surely get enough votes to be the clear winner. Jorge gets two votes as I promised. Felicia gets three votes. Why? Because the talent was closely packed this week and my favorite lost last week. While I believe that Felicia was the third best performer this week she was definitely my favorite. Scott: after listening to the final clips of the singers I realize that we all probably like him more because he is blind than his voice warrants. That's why I decided not to vote for him. His performance wasn't outstanding, just good. I don't think Scott has It In him to do more than mandolin rain type songs. Is that really what an "American Idol" should sound like? As I promised earlier I’m awarding my fifth vote to Nathaniel. I really wish him well. I'd really like to see Ju'not move on. The women happen to be the more talented this week. I thought the same last week but the votes didn’t support me.
In other voting:
Best looking girl:
1. Kendall
2. Felicia
3. Kristen
Coolest Guy:
1. Ju' Not
2. Jorge
3. Scott
No comments:
Post a Comment