Wednesday, March 18, 2009

American Idol Review Mar17, 09 - Rnd of 11

Country week sucks. Since I will probably know very few of these songs I’m not too excited. At least we get the country week out of the way quickly. The girls should do well here because if anything country offers women better songs than any of the other genres.
Michael Sarver - Ain't going down till the sun comes up
I don't know how to sing. I'm pretty sure this is not a good example. What a d#*k randy Travis is for not telling this guy just how horrible he sounds. Like everyone else I root for this guy. But I think it's the fourth quarter two-minute warning and he's fourteen points behind. We'll see.
=Randy: cool song but you didn't do much with it. Kara: Personality. She's letting him down easy nicely. Paula: nice nice. Simon: set it straight.
----note: do these contestants realize that when Simon gives them a hard time, if people who are voting liked their performance they're still going to like it. By talking back it gives credibility to what Simon is saying. Remember this, Simon is the expert here. He and Randy. Randy gets to play the nice guy because he knows Simon is there to lay down the justice. The absolute worst thing to do is come back at Simon like he's a fool. He'll win in the end. Whether viewers admit it or not they listen to the judges when thinking about calling in votes. As soon as all the singers worst than their favorite are eliminated they will shift their allegiance to whom they think deserves to win. ---------
Allison - Blame It On Your Heart
She rocks. I like the changes in her hairstyle. I'm rather sure that was a perfect performance. Judges agree. Simon did find something negative. But that’s good for the show.
Kris – To Make You Feel My Love
Boring, boring, and more boring. This is one song I actually know. Garth Brooks has a very strong, masculine voice. This sounds like the boyish rendition. Like if New Kids on the Block had covered the song. To me he came across whiny. “To make you feel my love” should be a forceful statement with a hint of vulnerability. He came across like a little boy asking his mommy to play checkers. The lyrics are fantastic but his voice doesn’t compliment it. It’s the kind of song you’d never leave on the radio. Judges: suckers for a sweet ballad.
Lil - Independence Day
I don’t know a lot of country singers but I do know this McBride chick. Lil doesn’t have to worry about getting eliminated. She has one of the best voices. It was less than great to me because I think the McBride chick does it much better. Remember, she’s out of her element. Judges: ….> time for a rant.
--------------- Rant:
Ok, these performers have to do something country tonight. Now Lil is clearly not a country artist yet she chose to do a country song. Like they were instructed. Now she gets bashed for doing what they tell her to do. Yes it does sound karaoke; it’s not her kind of song. It drives me mad hearing these guys (who are experts) criticize song choices and singers sounding out of their element when they constrain so tightly their choices.
End Rant…………
Adam Lambert – Ring of Fire.
<is it every week that all that’s going to change with this guy is the color of his leather jacket. I feel like we’re hanging out at a shopping mall in 1985>
<can someone get back to me on what meaning men with black fingernails carries. Is it like a rainbow sticker on the back of a car>
Okay. They’re preparing us for something strange. Ok… lot to say here. The guy is talented, for sure, but this song does not lend itself to this. It’s a simple song and he’s making it extravagant. I can handle the sitar, I saw Love Guru, and I’m down. But it was like genetically altering Christie Brinkley turning her into some Porno star. As the song continues it becomes embarrassing. These high notes sound too feminine. Oh god, as he’s running his hands through the air, on “burn burn burn” he pulls his shirt up a little. Burlesque? The kid is talented, but if he keeps rubbing Americas face in the dirt by screwing around with standards he’ll gain the ire of his audience even if he is the best performer available. You show your talent here not to “show off” but to gain their acceptance and appreciation. Simon: Indulgent Rubbish. So very true. He gets one. He keeps this up and he’s going to alienate the exact people he wants and needs to endear.
I’m sure of one thing. If they have two people standing on the stage at the end of the show as they name the last one that’s going on. They’re probably going to put Adam up there with whoever is getting the boot.
Scott – Wild Angels
If I weren’t committed to writing this I’d just fast forward through this performance. It’s going to be another song just like all of the ones we’ve already heard. Well done, but just not my cup of tea.
Ok I fought off the impulse to fast forward. I’m glad I didn’t. I like this guy even if I don’t admit it. That song could have replaced one of Christopher Cross’s songs. Like the one that was the theme to the movie Arthur. Except he should really stay away from high notes. That’s not his thing. Judge: Paula: W T F. Piano is a crutch. He should be a show man. Would she say the same to Stevie Wonder, or Ray Charles? Paula, you just helped to continue the martyr syndrome and in fact you’ve just made me like this kid more because you attacked him. Thanks Paula. Now I agree with Randy and even Kara, Scott, get off the boring songs, do something more creative.
Alexis – Jolene
Ooh, I’ve heard this song before. I think she’s very good and this performance tonight aside from one high note she really mutilated, was a good one. She’s safe to move on.
Randy: pitch problems Alexis replies – “trying to bring my own little flavor to it.” Alexis, messing up with the pitch is not a change in flavor; it’s more like scorching the soup. Paula: kisses Alexis’s butt. Simon: Forgettable. That is kind of true. But then again, it’s country. It’s a cookie cutter format. The whiny woman song. It’s on every radio station several times a day.
Wow. We’re more than halfway through the show and nobody has done Leann Rimes yet. I thought it would be done at least by two artists.
Danny Gokey
<Wow, Randy Travis says this guy has a soulfulness that most singers wished they had.>
I’ll bet they’ll say he started out weak. But boy when he hit this chorus. It was like turning the lights on in a darkened art studio. Just a burst of color. If god suddenly blessed me with the gift of song, I wouldn’t mind if he gave me this boy’s voice.
What the hell is up with Kara’s shirt today? Is that the same one that Jamie Lee Curtis wore in Trading Places?
Anoop Dawg – You Were Always On My Mind
With Randy he sounds good. It’s a boring safe song. I’m skipping this one. He’ll make it because the forum people still like him. Plus, it’s the year of the Slumdog Millionaire. He’s safe for at least two more weeks.
Megan Joy – I Go Walking After Midnight
<Never heard this song before>
Randy Travis loved it. That has to be good enough for another week.
Look, I want this girl to sing in my ear and especially the little mmmm noises she makes. I think she did great and she looked lovely. Love the hair tonight. How many more weeks am I going to see her before someone emails me a picture of her tattoo. (I voted 30 times for my gurl.) Randy: impressed. Kara: can she quit saying “Here’s the thing”. Can she come up with some new phrase?
Matt – So Small
He is my second favorite male performer. The Justin thing he’s definitely working the similarities that have been mentioned before. I think he’s good but I’d like to see him shoot for something other than the cute boy band member appeal.
Best Performances this week.
Allison, Danny, Megan, Matt …. In that order
Worst Performances this week:
Michael, Adam, Alexis, Kris
Michael will be voted off. Maybe Anoop.
My Final Six Prediction:
Danny, Matt, Lil, Adam, Allison, Megan

No comments:

Post a Comment